RE: “Gender Roles in She Stoops to Conquer”

19 Dec

Amy,
I can’t wait to discuss Swift’s poem ‘The Lady’s Dressing Room’ with you. I think I read it slightly differently in terms of female subjectivity. You mention and undoubted chauvinism, but I wonder how you see Strephon being portrayed in the poem? Celia is certainly being microscopically analyzed, but does Strephon fare any better? I suppose I see him being made much more the dolt and the villain than Celia. What do you think — am I off base here?

Hi Krystal – That’s a great point about Strephon being much more of a dolt and a villain than Celia because the poet does criticize him for being too curious. For example, after rereading the poem, I can see how lines 119 to the end are especially critical because the narrator calls Strephon wretched and a rogue, and pities his “foul imagination,” yet at the same time thinks he deserves his punishment because, after all, Strephen chose to slyly snoop around Celia’s dressing room and chest [129, 13, 121].

Additionally, I think I interpreted this story being told to a group of men (perhaps in a bar because of the subject?) because the poet addresses his audience in line 19: “Now listen while he next produces . . .” and tries to make Strephon contribute to the story in lines 69-70. Therefore, I wonder if subconsciously noticed Strephon being villainized more than Celia when I thought he was being embarrassed by the narrator. Thanks for proposing an alternate interpretation! 🙂

Leave a comment